Mixtape Monday: September Soundtrack

Image
Image source

The darkness is setting in earlier and earlier, and the mornings are getting hazy and chilly. The autumn is here! I’m personally one of the people who draw energy from sunshine, and these shortening days are making me want to curl up with a blanket, a thick book and a mug of rooibos tea – and music. Every time of the year deserves a corresponding playlist, and the autumn isn’t an exception.

This year I’m being quite nostalgic for some reason, and my playlist includes a couple of songs I listened to during my time in Belgium, as well as some classics from my teen years. Let’s go!

1. Opeth – Den Ständiga Resan

The autumn song. Also the most beautiful Swedish song I’ve ever come across.

2. Mew – 156

A song I listened to on repeat on the countless bus and train journeys through Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands. Brings back an awful lot of memories, all tied to the autumn and early winter.

3. Dir en grey – Ain’t Afraid to Die

When I was a teenager, I had my shelves full of self-made CD’s, containing mainly Japanese rock music. This song I had in my head yesterday when I was composing my September soundtrack, but I couldn’t for my life remember the name of it! Luckily there’s Google – and luckily I still remembered the lyrics after all these years.

4. Pink Floyd – Post War Dream

Another song that I associate with my teen years. The Blue Light (Ao no hono-o) is a movie that I watch every other year or so, on a dark autumn night. This song is the closing song of the movie, and it’s perfect.

5. The Softies – The Best Days

This is a sort of a wild card. I usually prefer listening to male vocalists when it comes to autumnal melancholic music, but this song is just beautiful. I’d never even heard of The Softies before finding this song yesterday, and now I’m glad I did.

6. Eddie Vedder – Long Nights

A great musician once made a great song for a great movie. What else is there to say?

7. Jens Lekman – Maple Leaves

Another new acquaintance, I love the 7″ version of this song. This song brings me to an autumnal park, among all the colourful leaves (no maple, since that doesn’t grow this north), on a crisp but sunny day.

And the last, but definitely not the least:

8. Radiohead – Street Spirit (Fade Out)

Hands up, is there someone who doesn’t love this song?

My autumn Spotify playlist (includes most of these songs, and a bunch of others) can be found here:

I’ll update it whenever I find another perfect autumn song.

Leave a Reply

